I’m Learning

I am learning. And I am growing in God. Growing in grace, peace, and love.

The latest twists and turnings on this journey that I am travelling have me in a vast expanse of desert. Jagged cliffs surround me and as far as I can see is an ocean of sand, some being picked up by the wind and some making swirling patterns around my feet as I walk from one dune to another, trying to make my way along a path I have not treaded upon. Blind instinct and growing faith are my companions in this desert experience. I can feel the push of the Spirit as He urges me on. I am tired, but I take out my bottle of the water of life (God’s Word) and I drink deeply from its recesses. “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” (Is.40:31) “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” (Is.41:10) “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” (Joshua 1:9) The more that I drink of the water of life, the stronger I become and the more I am able to handle the steep and narrow passageways and the unexpected walls that loom before me without an obvious way of getting beyond those walls. But as I walk and see things through the eyes of faith, I suddenly see crevices that I can squeeze through with just enough room to spare.

I am discovering things about God as I stroll along this way. I don’t always stroll, however. Sometimes I march along, enduring hardness as a good soldier as He said to do in 2 Tim 2:3. I endure the flames of fire as I am thrust into God’s refining fires, the heat burning away the dross of the flesh and burning into my spirit the likeness of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I am discovering that God is with me whether I feel His presence or not. I am discovering the power of God and of the Holy Spirit as they give me grace and strength as I pray every day. I can actually feel the power pouring into my inner man as I cry out to God and wait in His presence during our daily noonday prayer hour. (The Lord has totally transformed my prayers. In the past, I have struggled with praying and never felt that I knew what to pray or say to God and wondered if He was really listening to me. But the past three months or so, God has lightened a fire within my spirit and I can feel it burning whenever I get down on my knees at noon to pray to Him. I KNOW that I am in the presence of Almighty God and that He hears my prayers, loves me, and will answer my petitions and give me what I ask in faith according to His will.)

I have discovered that God speaks in many different ways. I have been longing for Him to speak to my heart and tell me many things. He has not chosen to answer my prayer for that particular thing, however. Instead, He has been speaking to me through His Word and in the Spirit. I have discovered that God can only be found through the Spirit and not in the energy of the flesh. While many a time, I do not feel any physical sensation at all when it comes to God, when I am in the Spirit, I am aware of His presence and I receive of His love and His guidance through faith. Everything is through faith.

This present row that I am hoeing is rough. I have to keep exercising patience and diligence and train my spirit to wait upon God, whether the flesh likes it or not. The flesh wants instant gratification and only to satisfy its own lusts. No good thing comes from the flesh. That is why we are encouraged to stay in the Spirit at all times. Galatians 5:16 tells us that if we walk in the Spirit, we will not fulfill the lusts of the flesh. These past few months, I have been engaged in quite a few squirmishes between the flesh and the Spirit and I can say with a measure of satisfaction that, with the help of the Holy Spirit and the God Who loves me more than anything and the Son Who lives within me, I am winning more and more of the battles of the flesh. Each day, I grow stronger and the flesh grows weaker because I feed the Spirit, for ” he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting. And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.” (Gal.6:8,9)

Every day I find more and more to praise God for. Each day, more of the Word of His truth is revealed to me as I yield my will and my body to Him in faith and trust. Proverbs 3 says for us to trust in the Lord with all of our hearts and not to lean to our own understanding, but in all our ways to acknowledge Him (God) and He will direct our paths. That means we are not to try to figure everything out. We are simply to trust Him and He will work everything out for us in His time and in His Own sovereign way. “Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.” (Ps.37:5)

I am learning so much about the Lord. I am learning that the Word of God is absolutely true and infallible and can be totally trusted and leaned upon. The Word of God is being played out in my life as I type this. I am no longer the woman that I was when I started this blog. My life has been completely renewed and I do not even think the same way. The love of God, the Father, Jesus, the Son, and the Holy Spirit have transformed my mind and my heart and the enemy can no longer harrass me or torment my mind the way that he’d always done in the past, for God has shown me the wiles of the devil and let me know that the weapons of our warfare are not carnal (man-made or fleshly), but mighty through God. (2 Cor.10:4) Jesus gave me power to walk all over satan and to spoil his house (kingdom) and I am beginning to walk in the power and the authority that I have been given in the Name of Jesus Christ.

The Lord has been so good to me that I can scarcely tell it all. There aren’t enough words in the dictionary for me to expound upon the greatness and the love of God, which surpasses knowledge. The only thing that I CAN do is to invite you to join me on this stupendous and miraculous and life-changing journey that I am on. For when you truly give your heart to God with all of your heart, He will be found of you and He will fill your heart and your life with a satisfaction that you will have to experience for yourself in order for you to describe it.

Jesus said in John 10:10 that He came to give you life, and that more abundantly. I can tell you without a shadow of a doubt that those words are true. I am living them. Each day, I am more victorious than I was the day before because God ALWAYS causes us to triumph through Jesus Christ. (2 Cor.2:14)

I am experiencing a fulfillment in mind and spirit that goes beyond the challenges that I face and all of the turmoil that is in the world today. In times past, there had been a war waging within me, an internal conflict from which I could find no rest…but no longer. Instead of conflict, my spirit is surrounded by the peace that only Jesus and the love of God can give. And that peace is yours for the asking. Jesus said that everyone who asks would receive and that whosoever seeks shall find. He knows what you have need of before you ask. All you have to do is seek ye FIRST the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto you. (Matt.6:33)

My soul praises the Lord. He has put new songs in my heart and has turned my mourning into dancing. Only God could do that. What a mighty God I serve.

I invite you to seek Him for yourself. You WILL find Him. And when you do, your life will never be the same. Guaranteed.

I have more than happiness. I have joy. And joy you can have regardless of circumstances. Happiness depends on pleasant circumstances and happenstances. Joy is independent of any of those things. Turn your life over to God and He will give you joy. And peace. And love. And great satisfaction. I have all of those things and more. And the best is still yet to come.

Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

