Listening to the Voice of the Spirit

The Lord Jesus promised us that He would always be with us. He told us that he would not leave us comfortless, that He would come to us. He comes to us via the Holy Spirit. The Spirit bears witness with our spirit that we are the sons and daughters of the Almighty. In other words, the Spirit confirms with our spirit that we belong to God.

One of the roles that the Holy Spirit plays in our lives is that of bringing things to our remembrance. “But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.” (John 14:26) He reminds us of everything that Jesus has said.

You need to be in tune with the Holy Spirit and heed His promptings and His voice. He speaks to us through circumstances, people, His Word mostly, and through that still small voice in our hearts. The Spirit is a gentleman. He does not come screaming through the heavens. Instead, He is a tender, wooing force, compelling and suggesting.

I have been hearing the call of the Spirit in my life in a particularly prominent fashion as of late. He is calling me to a higher dedication and consecration of my body and my spirit. He is telling me in no uncertain terms to be obedient to His voice and guidance and I am heeding that call.

My sole objective in this life is to be obedient to God. To be observant of all of His commandments and to heed His Spirit’s moving in my life. I must stay out of the way of the Spirit and allow Him to have total control of me. For the Spirit will not force His way into my life. He will only take as much of me as I give to Him, so I want to give Him all that I have and all that I am.

The more that I listen to the voice of the Spirit and do what He says, the more He will speak to me. He will open up to me as I open up to Him. The Word says that if we  draw near to God, He will draw near to us. “Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you.” (Jam.4:8a) The more that I give myself over to God, the more He will make available to me His power and His anointing, for it is the anointing that destroys every yoke in our lives. “And it shall come to pass in that day, that his burden shall be taken away from off thy shoulder, and his yoke from off thy neck, and the yoke shall be destroyed because of the anointing.” (Is.10:27)

I have to listen to the voice of the Spirit if I am to attain the  heights in God that He would have me to. If I am to be the woman that He has called me to be in Him. I have to listen with a willing heart and a mind to obey those things that the Spirit would say to me. It’s not about me, after all. It’s all about Him. And it’s not all about Him (the Spirit), because the Holy Spirit is all about lifting up the Son, Jesus Christ. That is His main function and He does His job well. The voice of the Spirit will always lift Jesus up and Jesus said that if He be lifted up, He will draw all men unto Himself.

Listen to the voice of the Spirit. Follow His leading. He will never steer you wrong. He will always guide and protect.

I thank God that Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to be with us always. We do not travel on this journey of life alone, but the Spirit is there with us and in us to show us the right paths for our feet. He will be our guide until death. Isn’t that a comforting thought? He is The Comforter, you know. How I thank God for having Him in my life.

Keep speaking, Lord. I am listening. And I will do what you say.

Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

