Trusting in the Lord

One of the most important lessons that I have been learning as of late is that of trusting in the Lord no matter what. Circumstances have painted pictures of chaos and calamity in my world, but as I lean on the Lord, He calms the seas swirling around me. He has deliberately allowed things to transpire exactly as they have to drive me closer to Him.

There have been times over the past few months when I have wanted to ask the Lord, “Lord, are You SURE you know what You are doing?” There has been a battle going on between the woman of faith inside me and that all too human part. It’s been interesting to see which part of me has won out on various occasions. On the one hand, the woman of faith has affirmend her belief and trust in the Lord and is standing firm on the Word of God as her anchor. On the other hand, though, the human part of her has wanted to question God because things seem to be so out of order right now. And I don’t like it when things are out of order.

The Lord has allowed my circumstances to proceed precisely as they are because He is wanting my complete and utter dependence on Him and not on the fickleness of fate. He wants me to use my tools of faith to bring me to the other side of the shore. These various tests and trials are meant to build resilience and fortitude into my spirit man, so that I will be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. So, I must put on the whole armour of God so that I can withstand the fiery darts of the enemy. (Eph.6:10,11)

We don’t grow strong in the Lord without testings. We don’t receive His power until we use the utensils that God has provided for us in His Word. The more we apply the Word to our circumstances and lives, the more powerful we become in the Lord.

The more we trust in the Lord, the more that we find that He is absolutely trustworthy. “It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.” (Ps.118:8) Man will let you down, but the Lord will always be faithful to you. He will always be there to see you through the difficult and/or trying circumstances where you may find yourself at any given time. You will never be let down as you put your trust in the Lord.

The more I learn about God (and from Him), the more I trust Him. And the more I trust Him, the more peace I have because “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” (Is.26:3) The Lord keeps me in perfect peace. And that is a priceless commodity that cannot be bought. It is freely given to us by the Lord, the One Who loves us more than anything.

God is worthy of our praise. And He is worthy of our trust. Trust in Him and you will always know peace, no matter the situation.

Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

