His Joy Is My Strength

The Lord has been good to me. His joy has been my strength. As I have struggled with various testings and trials, the joy of the Lord has been my anchor, holding me in place while lifting me to new heights in Him at the same time.

The joy of the Lord is far more than just a good feeling that you get every now and again. It is a weapon against the enemy and it keeps you from discouragement and defeat.

“Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation.” (Hab.3:18) God wants us to rejoice in Him. He has given us the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness. The Word says, “To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;” (Is.61:3) The Lord gives unto us the oil of joy. You do not have to live in despair or despondency. You can have joy at all times and in every circumstance if you will only receive it by faith and trust in God and His Word.

I’ve been going through some difficult times and for a time I was down in my spirit. But the joy of the Lord came to my rescue. God let me know that if I take Him at His Word that the just lives by faith and not by sight, I could experience His joy throughout my trial. I could sing praises to His Name while the winds of adversity blew upon me and threatened to knock me off of my feet. So I decided to lean on and depend on the Lord and He came to me and filled my heart with joy and I have been singing in my heart ever since. It does not make any earthly sense to have such joy when I am going through turmoil, but the Lord and His ways are not our ways and He can do things that no other can do. He is the Lord, after all.

You, too, can experience the joy of the Lord. It need not be only information that you have read. It can be yours now. Indeed, it is yours already. All you have to do is believe and act in faith. (Remember how to get off the bed?)

Joy is a healer. It heals the spirit and restores the mind. It strengthens the body and fortifies one’s reserves. When the Lord said that the joy of the Lord is our strength, He meant it. Not just as a word of encouragement, but as a real demonstration of His love and power in our lives. His joy is only one of His blessings that He has promised to us.

The joy of the Lord brin,gs meaning and purpose to our lives and gives us something to look forward to and enjoy. God does not want us to spend our lives in the dumps. He wants us to have joy in an abundant fashion. Not just a little bit, either. He wants us to be full and running over with joy and He will give it to you if you ask Him. I encourage you to activate your joy. Its strength will keep you in peace.

Oh, blessed be the Name of the Lord. His joy is truly my strength.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

