Get Off The Bed!

This blog posting is somewhat humorous but filled with knowledge that will help you to obtain victories in your life if you will grab a hold of its truth.

I was talking to my sister the pastor about faith and how faith works one day. She was expounding and teaching me the elements of faith and encouraging me to act in faith in those things that I was speaking to her about. I asked her how to do that and this is what she did:

She climbed up on her bed and stood up near the corner of it. She began to demonstrate this principle and began to wriggle and squirm and bounce around on the bed, all the while saying to me, “How do I get off the bed?” She looked silly as she loomed above me, hovering over the edge of the bed, looking for a way off. She kept saying, “How do I get off the bed?”, making noises of distress and easing her foot on and off the bed without touching the floor.

It became obvious to me what my sister was saying as she showed me the answer to my question. For the answer to that question was for my sister to simply get off of the bed. No fanfare. No figuring it out. Just get down. I told her, “Get off the bed!” We both laughed as my sister stepped down onto the floor quickly and easily.

The wisdom of my sister’s demonstration was both breathtaking and life changing. Because we sometimes make the things about faith so much harder than it needs to be when, quite simply, God made it so simple that a child could understand it.

Walking and acting in faith is simply to do what God’s Word says to do. Nothing more and nothing less. If He tells us not to let our hearts be troubled or afraid, do not be troubled. If He tells us that we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us, we are to do the very things that the enemy tells us that we cannot do, simply because we believe God’s Word and are being obedient. If He tells us that we are more than conquerors through Him that loves us, we know that we are victorious in any and every circumstance. All we have to do is what the Word says we are to do. Nothing more and nothing less.

So, the next time you are wondering how to act or walk in faith, just do one thing: Get off the bed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get Off The Bed!

Leave a Reply

