Focus

I have been contemplating on the Lord lately and He has been giving me a lesson on focusing. What you  focus on has a direct correlation on what you experience and what you experience has an impact on your life.

For the past few weeks, my focus has been on the Lord and what He has been doing in my life instead of on my circumstances, as it has been in the past month or so. And so much has changed in me since I changed my focus. When my focus was on my circumstances (when they were going to change or I was going to see a difference in them), I was so much more discontent with my surroundings and even the Lord in general. But once I got my eyes off of my circumstances and really started to put my trust in the Lord and in HIS timing for things, my outlook began to change. And that, in turn, began to change ME. The Lord truly does direct our paths as we put all of our trust in Him and not lean to our own understanding of things. “5 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (Prov.3:5,6)

I am grateful to God because He did not give me the things that I thought that I wanted in the way that I thought I needed them. If He had, I would always  been looking for feelings to support my faith, when the just do not live by their feelings. Feelings have nothing to do with faith, but there was a time when I didn’t “feel” a certain way, neither did I “feel God” and I became a bit upset with Him and that hindered my walk with Him for a time until I got my emoitons in check and started totally trusting Him…with my feelings, with my thoughts, and with my actions. I soon found that the wisdom of God so surpasses that of man and that God surely knows what He is doing.

I am experiencing growth in my life as a result of changing my focus from myself onto God and His purposes for my life and not my own idea of what those purposes should be. I am truly growing in grace and the more I grow in grace, the greater the peace I feel within my spirit. “But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and for ever. Amen.” (2 Peter 3:18) I am settling into God’s grace instead of my feelings and the differences that I am experiencing in my life is showing me that it is so worth waiting on God to do His work instead of trying to speed Him along or trying to do the work of the Holy Spirit myself.

I am learning much on this latest leg of my journey. It is truly liberty and freedom that I am experiencing as I continue to put my trust and confidence in God and not in myself. The fullness of God is encompassing every area of my life now. And it all began to change when I changed my focus.

I encourage you to focus on God and His Word and not on your circumstances or feelings. You, too, will begin to know God in a fuller and richer way.

Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Focus

  1. Pingback: Walking with God | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

