Reflections on the Journey

I am reflecting on my journey right now. It has been a long and arduous one for me as of late, as I have been sharing in my posts.

This particular leg of my journey, I have encountered heartache, confusion, a bit of despair with a splash of discouragement thrown in, and a host of unpleasant emotions. I have been wondering where in the world this journey is taking me and if I still want to go along for the ride, with all of the crazy twists and turns that it has taken me on as of late.

But as I reflect, the reflection of the love and care of God is much greater than my confusion. Much greater than my distress. For He has been here with me through it all. (Oh, not in the ways that I would want Him to be right now because the way is so difficult, but His Hand of protection is upon me and His grace has been surrounding me and keeping me sane and in one piece. And for that, I am grateful.)

I’d thought that the journey from bondage to freedom would be so easy once I got over the “rough patches.” But I know now that there will always be a rough patch or an obstacle or hurdle or two that I will have to conquer in order to get me to that next stage and place of freedom. For freedom does not come in one fell swoop. It is one victory at a time, one moulding at a time, one surrender at a time. And God is there through it all. The good spots as well as the rough.

No, the way has not been smooth lately. But I am learning. As I read back over the postings that I have made, I realize that I have come a long way, with the Lord’s help. I have a long way to go, but I have so many more tools and ability than I had before I started on this incredible journey.

God has delivered me from so many things. From fears and turmoil and heartaches and has brought great changes in my life. I guess that I sometimes forget where I’ve been because of where I am today. I need to look back and reflect on all that God has saved me from to give me hope and encouragement for the things that I am presently facing and will continue to face as I fight the good fight of faith in God and His Word.

God is faithful. God is good. And although my present circumstances would try to lie to me and tell me that I haven’t really accomplished anything or gotten anywhere, my life speaks a different story. I just tend to forget sometimes when I am going through a period of pain and trials.

So, I will go back and read more of the story of my journey. And I will be adding yet more things to it, for the best is yet to come for me. I know that because He promised in His Word that all things work together for my good and that He has plans for my life that far exceeds my own imaginings and longings. He is going to give me the desires of my heart as I delight myself in Him. That is His promise to me. “Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.” (Psalm 37:4)

The Lord is so good. He is so patient and He is so kind. He hears all of my cries of stress and distress and He never fails to replace both with His Word and His comfort. No matter how great that distress may be at any given time.

God is good. And I am so glad that I know Him. Better still, I am glad that He knows me. Knows me and loves me. And He loves you, too. You can trust in that. You can trust in Him. He never fails. Ever.

Time for me to take a little stroll through my journal here so that I will know that I am further along on my journey than it feels like at the moment. Perception is everything.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

