A Break in My Journey

I’ve learned a new and very important lesson as I travelled along my journey today. And that is that it is necessary to stop along the way and rest for a while from time to time.

I am the kind of person who is always challenging herself. Who always wants to learn new things and to grow continuously. To always be “doing something.” While those are not bad things in themselves, if you do not take time outs occasionally, you will burn out. And that is what happened with me today.

I found myself dissatisfied with everything. And I mean everything. I was tired of the way people keep hurting one another. I was tired of the way this world’s system works. I was tired of the apathy that I encounter daily. I was just tired of it all and ready for a ticket off the planet for a while.

The Lord let me know that it was time for me to just rest and take a break from it all. To leave all in His very capable Hands and for myself to do nothing but zone out for a while. And that’s just what I did. I got in my comfy pj’s and just lay on my bed listening to the song “Oh, The Deep, Deep Love of Jesus” over and over until I fell asleep. Before I slept, though, I just let my mind take a mental vacation and wander around wherever it wanted to go tonight. I did not engage in any warfare, neither did I worry about taming my thoughts. As that sheep I referred to earlier, I just relied on my Shepherd and let Him take care of the details of my life and my mind and simply rested in His care. What a relief it was to completely allow the Lord to be at the helm of my life and for me to just ride shotgun with him on the passenger side.

The Lord is not some stern taskmaster always cracking the whip to get us or to keep us in shape. The Word says that “Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:” (Phil.1:6) God has plenty of time and even more patience to work on us until we be formed into the image of His dear Son.

We don’t have to be so hard on ourselves or drive ourselves to the brink of exhaustion in order for God’s will in our lives to be accomplished. Like I said before, all we have to do is trust the Good Shepherd. He knows what He is doing. We don’t always have to know. All He requires of us is to “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (Prov.3:5,6) HE is the One Who will direct our paths. Not us. When we try to do it ourselves or to do things our way, we become weary, worn out, and discouraged. Much as I did today. So, take a break now and then. Trust God to work out the details of your life and don’t be in such a hurry to “get there.” You will get where you need to be precisely when it is time for you to do so. In the meantime, you are just where you need to be. In the care of the Shepherd. And that is a very nice and safe place to be.

I think I’ll change my song now. I feel rested and refreshed and the Lord has put a new song in my heart and mind. All while I was resting in Him. “Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him:” (Psalm 37:7a)

I wonder what awaits me on my journey tomorrow. Then again, I can wait.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

