The God of All Comfort

“Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.” (2 Cor.1:3,4)

God is many things to me. He is my Father. He is my friend. He is my defender and deliverer. But tonight, He is my comforter.

I have been dealing with a lot of things lately. Disappointments, setbacks, loneliness, the shackles imposed on me by my circumstances. Just everything, it seems.

I talked to the Lord about everything that has been troubling. And I mean, everything. I withhold nothing from Him. My joys, my fears, my struggles, my triumphs…just all of who I am, I give to Him in prayer and in my daily life. So, as I sat next to my ottoman (that’s my God-spot), I laid out all my complaints and distresses to my Father in heaven because I know that He hears me. He not only hears me, but He loves and cares for me. “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” (1 Pet.5:7) He cares about everything that I care about. There is nothing too big nor too small that I cannot go to Him and He will not only hear my cry, but He will answer me. (Oh, not always in the way that I would have Him to answer me: like in immediately taking my distresses away from me and replacing them with the things that I am seeking Him for) But He always speaks to my heart words of comfort, peace, and love.

I hadn’t realized that the thing I needed most tonight was comfort. I was just distressed and out of sorts and was just laying my burdens at His feet. After a while, I was aware of a feeling of great comfort. As His Word played in my ears and heart, my heart was less troubled and I felt as if a warm blanket had been wrapped around me. A blanket of comfort. I setttled back into the comfort of God and smiled within my heart.

Oh, how I wish that things were different for me right now. I wish for a change in my circumstances. (I have been very lonely for quite a long time now. Four years without my husband has taken a huge toll on me. He was my best friend and a source of great comfort and love. And I miss that. Oh, how I miss that.)

But God knows exactly what He is doing. I know that He is working out the details of my life for my good. And ultimately, I WILL have those things that I have been longing for for so long. But in the meantime, I have the comfort of God and that is a beautiful thing. (For me, it is during the times when I am down and/or discouraged, and the Lord comes along and comforts me that I cherish the most. Anyone can jump and praise God when things are going fine and they have everything that they want or need. But it is in those lonely times, those times of distress and need, when your character is revealed and you find out just who and what you are trusting in. My trust is in the Lord. All of my eggs are in just one basket: His. He alone is my source for strength, comfort, love, joy, and peace. And His peace is keeping my heart and mind, just as He said it would in His Word. “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” (Phil.4:7) And those words are so true. It doesn’t make any earthly sense for one to have such peace when going through times of great turmoil and pain. And yet I have peace. I have comfort. I have love. So, therefore, I have everything that I need, don’t I? (That answer is yes!)

I encourage you to call upon the Lord when you are in any kind of distress. He will comfort you. And His comfort is unlike any other. It’s like getting hugged from the inside out. With that comfort comes an awareness of God: of His love and His care. And those are priceless treasures that I wouldn’t trade or give up for anything.

God is the God of all comfort. I am a living witness. Because although my heart cries in one respect; in another, my soul sings, for I know the One Who comforts me loves me with all of His heart. And He’s got a BIG heart.

Blessed be the Name of the Lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

