The Power of Prayer

Prayer is powerful. It not only roots and grounds you in God, it also moves the Hand of God.

I have been going through some challenging situations, both naturally and spiritually. I was beginning to feel overwhelmed and pressured. But then I discovered for myself the power of prayer.

I got home from afternoon prayer at the church and I got down on my knees before God because I wasn’t finished yet. I had many questions. I had many feelings. I was confused about the way that things were turning out in my life and I did not understand what God was up to or what He was doing with me or even WHAT He wanted me to do. So, I began to seek Him. I just poured out my heart to Him. All the complaints I had, all the doubts about myself and my misgivings, all of the questions that I had that seemingly had no answers to as yet…I gave it all to Him. And I kept on praying. I was interrupted a time or two, but each time, I did what I had to do and then got back to the business of praying to God.

As I prayed, I brought back God’s Word to Him and reminded myself of His promises that He would always be with me, that He hears me, that He cares for me, and that He would give me wisdom if I asked for it. At the same time, I was getting out my feelings that I do not and cannot share with anyone else. I was completely purging my heart to God…and He was listening.

I must have prayed for a couple of hours…and then I fell asleep in the presence of God. When I awakened, I felt refreshed in my mind, my body, and my spirit. All of the “stuff” that had been swirling around me for days was gone. In its place was great peace. The Word says for us to cast all our cares upon God because He cares for us. And as I did just that, all of the burdens that I had been carrying for the past few days were lifted from me and I feel a lightness in my spirit. I feel a new spring in my step. All because I stepped into the presence of God through prayer.

Prayer is many things. Prayer will open doors for you that no man can shut. Prayer changes things literally when you act and believe in faith. Prayer is the key. You will see God move as you trust in Him and pray in faith.

God needs to hear from us and we need to hear from Him. He knows everything that we need and what we are going through, but He needs that prayer exchange because it is the way that He has set up His great plan. When we pray, He moves!

So, I encourage you to pray. God will do some amazing things as you seek Him and wait on Him. He has done a great thing in my life tonight and I am left amazed and awed at His love and His power. And most of all, by His love. For it is His love that motivates everything about the Lord. Oh, how He loves us.

So, pray. He’s waiting for you. And He is listening. Thank God, He is listening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

