God Delights in Us!

I’ve had a very DELIGHTFUL day today. There’s no other way to describe it. For God spoke to my heart very plainly early this morning and said these words to me, “I delight in you.” Those words warmed my heart and thrilled my soul because I have never had anyone say to me that they delight in me. When you are delighted with someone or something, the object of that delight makes you happy. It makes you smile. You get joy when you think about that person or thing. And to know that God delights in me (He delights in all of us because He loves us SO much) makes me feel like a kid at Christmas. I basked in that delight like a flower basks in rays of sunlight. Like a child playing happily at the beach.

I had to take out my Bible and look up the scriptures that spoke of the Lord’s delight in His children; His people. Here are some of the gems I came up with:

“He brought me forth also into a large place; He delivered me, because He delighted in me. (Psalm 18:19)

“But such as are upright in their way are His delight.” (Prov. 11:20b)

“Only the Lord had a delight in thy fathers to love them, and he chose their seed after them, even you above all people, as it is this day.” (Deut. 10:15)

Knowing that God loves me is one thing. (A HUMONGOUS THING!). But knowing that He delights in me is another matter. Knowing all of my faults, failings, shortcomings, insecurities, occasional bad attitudes and periods of fear and doubt, He still delights in me. Wow. What a blessing. What an utter blessing.

I mean, think about it. When you delight in something, it’s like you saying, “You know what? I really LIKE you! I mean, I REALLY like you! You bring me joy. dThere’s something about YOU that I truly dig! When you delight in someone, you want to please them. You want to do nice things for them. You only think good things about them and their happiness is your chief concern. And that is how God feels about me. And that is how He feels about YOU. Take a moment and reflect upon the fact that the God of the universe takes great delight in you. Really let that notion sink into your mind and your heart, and see if you won’t start feeling like I did…like a kid at Christmas, knowing he/she is about to receive the gift that they’ve been wanting and wishing and hoping and praying for all year long!

Do you doubt that God delights in you? Want some proof? I, myself, am sitting here delighting in every person who is and who will read this blog because I care about you as a human being. And I don’t even know you. Just imagine a God Who knows you inside out, upside down, and all around and He loves you completely, just the way that you are. I am just a human being and I want the best for you. I want you to be happy and fulfilled and for you to have your heart’s desires. If a total stranger can feel such things about you, how much more God? “If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask Him?” (Matt. 7:11)

You may not feel loved today (or any day, for that matter.) You may feel unimportant, or unheard, or misunderstood. But know that there is a God in heaven Who not only loves you, He LIKES you! He delights in you. He delights in YOU.

Be encouraged.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

