Facing the “You Can’t Do It” Giant

I have been watching a movie entitled “Facing the Giants.” (Highly recommended, by the way.) In it, the characters had to face giants of many types.

As I have been walking to church each morning (my sister lost her job in June and her husband, who is the pastor of our church and has been working in the ministry, has gone back to work because we face losing our house, and has the only car, so my sister and I have been walking to church for the past few weeks.

At first, the walks were not very difficult for me. But for the past couple of weeks, those walks have been getting harder and harder and the distance seemed daily to grow farther. I have been quandering in my heart why these walks have gotten so difficult for me and the Lord has given me enlightenment. He told me that I was facing and conquering the “You can’t do anything” giant that had been dogging my heels for the past few years.

You see, I have been flat on my back (bedridden) for 23 hours per day for eight months last year and I have been homeless for two years to go along with that debilitating disease. Most of my choices and decisions had been taken out of my hands by my circumstances and I began to think and fear that I was incapable of doing anything at all and wondering how in the world God would be able to use me the way that I was and if I would forever live with the thought that I would not be able to “do anything.” Anything at all.

But in the past few weeks, as I have been leaning totally on the Lord and trusting in His Word (I speak the Word to myself every step of the way to churh and throughout the day), I have been facing that giant. Every day for the past week, I have been having to push myself to get dressed and to go out that door, down the steps, and start the trek to church for prayer. And every day, I have been wondering how I was going to make it because physically I have been feeling weaker and weaker. But that weakness has come from an emotional standpoint. I know very well that I can walk and have strength, but emotionally (and therefore, physically, because you get what you believe), my body has been feeling as though it could not take one step and each step I have taken has been like a marathon.

But I face my giants. I say to myself as I huff and puff, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” (Phil. 4:13) And, “Our God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1) And, “I will love thee, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer, my God, my strength, in Whom I will trust; my bukcler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.” (Psalm 18:1,2) And the power of the Word has powered my legs and I have made it to the church every single day, feeling weak in my body, but triumphant in my spirit because I know that I am now walking in the Spirit and not my flesh and it is His love and power that is giving me the strength to do the things that I did not feel like I had the power to do. And that is not all that that walk is doing.

For I know that I CAN do all things through Christ, though my circumstances may look and feel very differently. THAT is the victory. “Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place.” (2 Cor. 2:14)

“And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work.” (2 Cor. 9:8)

“Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think anything as of ourselves, but our sufficiency is of God.” (2 Cor. 3:5)

I cannot do anything on my own of any lasting value. Only what we do for Christ will last and it is HIS strength that keeps us and not our own.

I thank God for the giants that I face. Because each one I take down takes me closer and closer to my Promised Land. And I will be taking out each and every one by the power and love of God the Father, Jesus, the Son and my Victor, and the Holy Spirit, my Comforter and guide. With that threesome, I CANNOT and WILL NOT be defeated! So, bring it on, giants! Like David, I’ve got stones in my sling that I will use to take you down and then I will take your own swords and cut your heads off, in Jesus mighty Name!

I WILL go the distance…and I am ALREADY more than a conqueror. “Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him that loved us.” (Romans 8:37)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

