Maintaining Your Victory~Those Pesky Things Called Feelings

I am finding it necessary to talk to myself this morning. I woke up with no great feelings of victory. I’m feeling a bit out of sorts with the weather and I did not get the greatest sleep I’ve ever had last night. So, my body is a bit worn out and I have to walk to prayer this morning and it has been raining.

All of these things have made it necessary to pull out my tools of victory: faith in God and what He said He will do, allowing patience to do its work in my life, casting down the imaginations that are trying to run rampant in my mind because of the fatigue and blahness that I am feeling, and binding satan’s suggestions in my mind and loosing the Holy Spirit to do its work on my mind and my spirit.

This is a perfect time to speak about feelings, because my feelings are running rampant right now and they are NOT pretty! I find myself angry at my sister because there are some things that I need to have done and I find myself pushed down the list of priorities to the bottom again and at this present moment, I don’t have it in me to feel compassion or patience or joy. That is why I am SO glad that I have the Lord in my life, for HE is my strength, my stability, and when I find myself going off the deep end of my feelings, He is right there to catch me and to remind me that it is HIS  strength, not my own or my feelings, that I am to rely on.

The Lord is never weary. He doesn’t get tired. He does not get impatient with us. He is always there, ready to help us in ANY type of need. And I need Him desparately right now because I feel like I am about to implode with anger and impatience and dissatisfaction with my life at this very moment. I am feeling the weight of the limitations imposed upon me by my circumstances and that weight is heavy right now. I am feeling frustrated because there are some things that I had been planning to do in the next few days and I found out yesterday that I am going to have to put those things off for God only knows how long, so I am feeling the weight of disappointment, too.

One of the reasons I am writing this blog is so that people will know that there are real people going through real situations and trying feeling and emotions, but there is a God Who is not only alive and well, but One Who loves us and cares for ALL of our needs, whether they be great or small. Everything that is on my heart affects the Father and He is more than ready to relieve me of my cares and burdens and replace them with His peace. “Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

I am beginning to feel energized in my spirit because I know that the Lord, Who is my deliverer (Psalm 18:2) has undertaken for me and HE will bring the victory to me and for me because He ALWAYS causeth us to triumph in Christ! “Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place.” (2 Cor. 2:14)

We don’t HAVE to let our feelings and our emotions influence our lives in such a way that we lose the victory that is ours in Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:3-5:
3 For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh:
4 (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;)
5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

As I cast down the imaginations and bring into captivity all of my thoughts to obedience of Christ, I am able to see what the enemy is doing: trying to get me to doubt and question God for the things that I am going through and bring dissatisfaction and discontent to my life and I am not going to allow that to happen. And I am so thankful that I have a God Who is watching over and caring for me and Who alerts me when things are getting out of whack and I am beginning to lean on my own understanding (my own reasoning), which the Word tells us not to do. “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (Proverbs 3:5,6) We are not to lean upon our own reasoning and intellect because our feelings lie to us and will lead us into error. Instead, we are to trust in the Lord with all of our hearts and HE is the One Who will direct our paths. We cannot see what is ahead of us. But God can, and He directs around obstacles and barriers that we could not possibly get around or through without His knowledge, help, and power. I am so thankful for the Lord.

So, when your feelings seem to take over, take cover in the Lord (“the name of the Lord is a strong tower. The righteous runneth into it and is safe.” Proverbs 18:10) and wait upon Him, for “they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31)

Now that I am hearing and applying the Word of God to my circumstances, I am feeling strengthened in my inner man (“Strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness;” Col. 1:11)

Now that I have put on the whole armor of God, the fiery darts of doubt and fear are now bouncing off of my shield of faith and I am wielding the Sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God and the ONLY thing that we can defeat the arrows of the enemy with. “Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.” (Ephesians 6:10.11,16)

I am looking unto the hills from whence cometh my help, and my help has come. Blessed be the name of the Lord!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

